IIFA Awards performer Kartik Aaryan tests positive for Covid-19

Bollywood actor Kartik Aaryan has tested positive for Covid-19.

The Bhool Bhulaiyaa 2 The star made the announcement just hours before he was scheduled to take the stage at Saturday’s International Indian Film Academy Awards at the Etihad Arena.

“Everything was going so well but Covid couldn’t resist,” he posted on social media in Hindi.

Aaryan is one of the performers scheduled for the ceremony, which will honor Bollywood’s best of the past year. Films from 2020 and 2021 will also be considered as the event was canceled in those years due to Covid-19.

IIFA Awards 2022 Live: Salman Khan joins Bollywood stars for IIFA Rocks in Abu Dhabi

Aaryan has performed at the IIFA Awards before, even hosting the event in Bangkok in 2018.

Earlier, he said he was “delighted to once again perform at the 22nd edition of India’s biggest film festival”.

“The IIFA is truly the embodiment of a global phenomenon with its huge following and I am looking forward to the IIFA Awards at Yas Island, Abu Dhabi,” he said.

The 2022 IIFA Awards will be hosted by Salman Khan with actors Riteish Deshmukh and Manish Paul. Performers include actors Tiger Shroff, Shahid Kapoor, Abhishek Bachchan, Sara Ali Khan, Ananya Panday, Divya Khosla Kumar and Nora Fatehi.

On Friday, the stars walked the green carpet at IIFA Rocks, an evening dedicated to music and fashion.

Panday described her appearance, which will be her first live performance, as “a dream come true”.

“The IIFA Awards are getting bigger and better than ever,” she said.

Panday, who is a huge Abu Dhabi fan, said she was excited to visit Warner Bros. World Abu Dhabi after his performance.

Other stars at Saturday’s ceremony include veteran actors Madhuri Dixit-Nene and Mithun Chakraborty. They will be joined by Aishwarya Rai Bachchan, Lara Dutta Bhupathi, Tamannaah Bhatia, Nargis Fakhri, Bobby Deol, Arjun Rampal, Sanya Malhotra, Urvashi Rautela and film producer Boney Kapoor.

Oscar winner AR Rahman will also be present, along with actors Vicky Kaushal, Kriti Sanon, Pankaj Tripathi, Fardeen Khan, Sohail Khan and Suniel Shetty.

Updated: June 04, 2022, 10:59 a.m.

!function(f,b,e,v,n,t,s) {if(f.fbq)return;n=f.fbq=function(){n.callMethod ? n.callMethod.apply(n,arguments):n.queue.push(arguments)}; if(!f._fbq)f._fbq=n;n.push=n;n.loaded=!0;n.version=’2.0′; n.tail=[];t=b.createElement(e);t.async=!0; t.src=v;s=b.getElementsByTagName(e)[0]; s.parentNode.insertBefore(t,s)}(window, document,’script’, ‘https://connect.facebook.net/en_US/fbevents.js’); fbq(‘init’, ‘797427810752825’); fbq(‘track’, ‘PageView’);

Comments are closed.